OME - Contacts

Faculty Leadership

Daniel Bernstein, MD

Associate Dean for Curriculum and Scholarship

(650)723-7913    danb@stanford.edu

  • Responsible for developing, implementing and overseeing the undergraduate medical curriculum and student research and scholarship
  • Supports faculty development activities and ensures high quality teaching
  • Chairs the Committee on Curriculum and Academic Policy (CCAP)

Preetha Basaviah, MD

Assistant Dean, Pre-Clerkship Education

(650)724-9621    pree@stanford.edu

  • Oversees the pre-clerkship curriculum
  • Chairs the Pre-Clerkship Course Directors' committee

Tracy Rydel, MD

Assistant Dean, Clerkship Education

(650)723-9621   tarydel@stanford.edu

  • Oversees the clerkship curriculum
  • Chairs the Required Clerkship Directors' committee

Lars Osterberg, MD

Program Director, Educators-4-CARE

Co-Director, Teaching and Mentoring Academy

(650)723-1536    larso@stanford.edu

  • Oversees the Educators-4-CARE program
  • Co-directs the Teaching and Mentoring Academy

Laurence Baker, PhD

Director, Medical Student Research and Scholarship

(650)723-4098  laurence.baker@stanford.edu

  • Oversees the Scholarly Concentration and Medical Scholars programs
  • Chairs the Scholarly Concentration Directors' committee

Administrative Oversight

Cynthia A. Irvine, M.Ed.

Associate Dean, Office of Medical Education

(650)723-1330    cirvine@stanford.edu

  • Oversees staff, financial and operational management for the MD curriculum
  • Oversees compliance with LCME standards for the educational program

Nikia Earls

OME Program Coordinator

(650)498-7581    nikiae@stanford.edu

  • Provides administrative support to leadership of the Office of Medical Education
  • Provides programmatic support for the activities of the Office of Medical Education

Brian Herman, MPA

Associate Director for Educational Standards

(650)725-4677    bherman8@stanford.edu

  • Manages compliance with and documentation of education-related LCME standards
  • Oversees affiliations/contracts with clinical training sites

Irina Russell, PhD

Director of Education Analytics

(650)736-2055    imrussell@stanford.edu

  • Oversees curriculum management system (Ilios)
  • Conducts research on curricular initiatives

Clinical Outreach and Education

Belinda Hernandez, MSW, EdD

Managing Director, Cardinal Free Clinics

(650)723-6675    bhernan@stanford.edu

  • Provides operations administration for the Cardinal Free Clinics
  • Supports student learning related to clinic operations and management

Sara Duran

Cardinal Free Clinics Education and Operations Coordinator

(650)725-5892    sduran@stanford.edu

  • Provides administrative and operational support to faculty, staff, and students working and volunteering at the Cardinal Free Clinics
  • Assists in the coordination of curriculum and programs related to the educational experiences of Stanford students volunteering with the CFC program
  • Coordinates logistics for outreach activities, meetings, and events

MD Curriculum

Bahij Austin

Assistant Dean for Curricular Affairs

(650)725-2973    bahij@stanford.edu

  • Oversees policies and procedures related to the required curriculum; manages the Committee on Curriculum and Academic Policy
  • Administrative oversight of curriculum re-design and implementation
  • Administrative Director for the Educators-4-CARE program

Madika Bryant, MA

Administrative Director, Practice of Medicine (POM)

(650)723-5410    mbryant6@stanford.edu

  • Provides administrative oversight of the Practice of Medicine (POM) course
  • Education manager for the first year POM course

Mary Devega

Assistant Director of Clerkship Education

(650)725-4677  mdevega@stanford.edu

  • Provides administrative management of the clerkship curriculum, including existing and proposed clerkships and programs
  • Manages the Required Clerkship Directors' committee and oversees the Required Clerkship Coordinators' meetings

Audra Gallant

Education and Assessment Specialist, Practice of Medicine (POM)

(650)497-9549    audrag1@stanford.edu

  • Managing Practice of Medicine course performance evaluations
  • Developing and advising Practice of Medicine course assessments and curriculum development

Donald Matsuda, MD

Assistant Director, Pre-Clerkship Education

(650)723-1337    dmatsuda@stanford.edu

  • Provides administrative management of the pre-clerkship curriculum
  • Manages the Pre-Clerkship Course Directors committee
  • Manages the centralized Teaching Assistant selection process

Melanie O’Brien, PhD

Science of Medicine (SOM) Course Manager

(650)498-4860   melanie6@stanford.edu

  • Manages SOM course content for Canvas and course syllabus
  • Provides support for all SOM lectures, labs, and exams
  • First point of contact for all issues related to SOM

Laura Parra

Education Manager, Practice of Medicine (POM) Year 2

(650)725-7673    lparra@stanford.edu

  • Manages the second year Practice of Medicine course (POM)

Lisa Cedeño, MS

Clinical Skills Development Coordinator

(650)736-2055    lisarodas@stanford.edu

  • Provides administrative oversight for Early Clinical Engagement (ECE) and the Student Guidance Program (SGP).

Mohamed Sow, MD

Curriculum Program Manager

(650)723-5925    msow@stanford.edu

  • Provides administrative support across the curriculum, including curriculum working groups and other educational initiatives

Medical Student Promotion

Jared Shields

Medical Student Promotion Manager

(650)724-6837    jshields@stanford.edu

  • Reviews the development and performance of each student on an ongoing basis in the areas of the fulfillment of academic, technical, and professional standards
  • Serves as point of contact for the Committee on Performance, Professionalism and Promotion (CP3)

Medical Student Research and Scholarship

Natalie Marino, MA

MedScholars Program Administrator, Medical Student Research and Scholarship

(650)723-0355    nmarino1@stanford.edu

  • Provides administrative support for the Stanford Medical Scholars programs
  •  

Celina Ng

Assistant Director, Medical Student Research and Scholarship

(650)723-7817    celinang@stanford.edu

  • Manages the Scholarly Concentration Program and Stanford Medical Scholars programs
  • Manages the Scholarly Concentration Directors' committee

Evaluation and Instructional Development

Kiranjit Brar

Director, Evaluation and Instructional Development

(650)725-5934    kiranjit@stanford.edu

  • Oversees research and evaluation of the required MD curriculum, including innovations and new initiatives
  • Manages staff and resources associated with implementing medical education research and evaluation plans
  • Chairs the Clerkship Evaluation Committee (CEC)

Claire Cioni

Associate Director for Evaluation

(650)724-7508  ccioni@stanford.edu

  • Oversees pre-clerkship and clerkship evaluations
  • Oversees evaluation management system (E*Value/MedHub)

Adam Hain, DET, MA Ed

Associate Director of Instructional Development

(650)736-7227    adamhain@stanford.edu

  • Leads the Evaluation and Instructional Development team’s collaboration efforts related to instructional support
  • Works with faculty and course administrators to identify and/or create instructional resources and best practices in the service of improvement of course design and instruction

Vacant

Evaluation Research Analyst

(650)

  • Analyzes evaluation data for pre-clerkship and clerkship curriculum