Key Administrative Dates & Deadlines

The School of Medicine's Academic Calendar combines dates relevant to all our matriculating programs: MD, MS, and PhD.

Other Resource Calendars

2016 - 2017
Academic Calendar

AUTUMN QUARTER

(Term 1172; MD Program Q1 and Q4)

August  1 (Fri)                            Axess opens for autumn quarter course enrollment

August 12 (Fri)                           MD – INDE 297 session for clinical students (Period 2)

August 19 (Fri)                           MD –SWEAT camping trip orientation (new students)

August 20-23 (Sat-Tues)        MD – SWEAT camping trip (new students)

August 21 (Thu)                        MD – First-year University housing move-in date

August 22 (Mon)                       First day of clerkships for Period 3

August 24-26 (Wed-Fri)          MD – New student orientation

August 29 (Mon)                        MD – Instruction begins for first-year students       

September 1 (Thu)                   MD – Instruction begins for second-year students

September 1 (Thu)                   MD – deadline for second-year students to declare Scholarly Concentration

September 5 (Mon)                  Labor Day (holiday; no classes)

September 16 (Fri)                   At status enrollment deadline in order to receive stipend or financial aid refund by first day of term (5 p.m.)        

September 19 (Mon)               MD – First day of clerkships for Period 4

September 26 (Mon)            First day of autumn quarter; GRAD instruction begins

September 26 (Mon)               Deadline (5 p.m.) to file for leave of absence in autumn quarter with full refund

September 26 (Mon)               Deadline (5 p.m.) to file preliminary study list with sufficient units for student to be “at status”                 

October 7 (Fri)                           MD – INDE 297 session for clinical students (Period 4)

October 14 (Fri)                         Deadline (5 p.m.) to file final study list (add/drop, adjust units for variable-unit course)

October 17 (Mon)                     MD – First day of clerkships for Period 5

November 7 (Wed)                  Deadline (5 p.m.) to file for term withdrawal with partial refund  

November 14 (Mon)                MD – First day of clerkships for Period 6  

November 18 (Fri)                    Deadline (5 p.m.) to file change to grading basis; course withdrawal deadline except GSB, LAW, MD                 

November 18 (Fri)                    GRAD – Deadline (5 p.m.) to apply for autumn quarter degree conferral

November 21-25 (Mon-Fri)   Thanksgiving recess (no classes)

December 2 (Fri)                       MD – INDE 297 session for clinical students (Period 6)

December 5-11 (Mon-Sun)   End-Quarter Period (“Dead Week”)

December 9 (Fri)                       Last day of instruction (unless class meets on Saturday); last day to arrange for an Incomplete in a course

December 9 (Fri)                       GRAD – Deadline (12 p.m., noon) to submit thesis/dissertation for autumn quarter degree conferral

December 12-16 (Mon-Fri)    End-Quarter examinations

December 16 (Fri)                  Last day of autumn quarter

December 19–January 6 (Mon-Sun)       Winter Break (no classes)

December 20 (Tue)                   Grades due at 11:59 p.m.

January 12                                   Conferral of degrees for autumn quarter

WINTER QUARTER

(Term 1174; MD Program Q2 and Q5)

October 30 (Sun)                     Axess opens for winter quarter course enrollment

December 30 (Fri)                   At status enrollment deadline in order to receive stipend or financial aid refund by first day of  term

January 9 (Mon)                   First day of winter quarter; instruction begins for all students

January 9 (Mon)                      Deadline (5 p.m.) to file for leave of absence in winter quarter with full refund

January 9 (Mon)                      Deadline (5 p.m.) to file preliminary study list with sufficient units for student to be “at status”

January 9 (Mon)                      MD – First day of clerkships for Period 7

January 16 (Mon)                    Martin Luther King, Jr., Day (holiday; no classes)

January 27 (Fri)                        Deadline (5 p.m.) to file final study list (add/drop, adjust units for variable-unit course)

February 6 (Mon)                     MD – First day of clerkships for Period 8     

February 20 (Mon)                   Presidents Day (holiday; no classes)

February 22 (Thu)                    Deadline (5 p.m.) to file for term withdrawal with partial refund

February 24 (Fri)                       MD – INDE 297 session for clinical students (Period 8)

March 3 (Fri)                               Deadline (5 p.m.) to file change to grading basis; course withdrawal deadline except GSB, LAW, MD

March 3 (Fri)                               GRAD – Deadline (5 p.m.) to apply for winter quarter degree conferral

March 6 (Mon)                           MD – First day of clerkships for Period 9

March 13-19 (Mon-Sun)         End-Quarter Period (“Dead Week”)

March 17 (Fri)                             Last day of instruction; last day to arrange for an Incomplete in a course

March 17 (Fri)                             GRAD – Deadline (12 p.m., noon) to submit thesis/dissertation for winter quarter degree conferral

March 20-24 (Mon-Fri)            End-Quarter examinations

March 24 (Fri)                          Last day of winter quarter

March 27-31 (Mon-Sun)         Spring Break (no classes) for non-clinical students

March 28 (Tue)                          Grades due at 11:59 p.m.

April 6 (Thu)                               Conferral of degrees for winter quarter

SPRING QUARTER

(Term 1176; MD Program Q3 and Q6)

February 12 (Sun)            Axess opens for spring quarter course enrollment

March 24 (Fri)                     At-status enrollment deadline in order to receive stipend or financial aid refund by first day of  term (5 p.m.)

April 3 (Mon)                    First day of spring quarter; instruction begins for all students

April 3 (Mon)                      MD – First day of clerkships for Period 10

April 3 (Mon)                      First day of instruction Q6 POM    

April 3 (Mon)                      Deadline (5 p.m.) to file for leave of absence in spring quarter with full refund

April 3 (Mon)                      Deadline (5 p.m.) to file preliminary study list with sufficient units for student to be “at status”

April 14 (Fri)                       Deadline (5 p.m.) to apply for spring quarter degree conferral

April 21 (Fri)                       Last day of instruction Q6 POM

April 21 (Fri)                       MD – INDE 297 session for clinical students  (Period 10)

April 21 (Fri)                       Deadline (5 p.m.) to file final study list (add/drop, adjust units for variable-unit course)

May 1 (Mon)                       MD – First day of clerkships for Period 11

May 15 (Tue)                      Deadline (5 p.m.) to file for term withdrawal with partial refund

May 26 (Fri)                        Deadline (5 p.m.) to file change to grading basis; course withdrawal deadline except GSB, LAW, MD

May 29 (Mon)                    MD – First day of clerkships for Period 12

May 29 (Mon)                    Memorial Day (holiday; no classes)

June 1-8 (Fri-Thu)           GRAD – End-Quarter period (“Dead Week”)

June 7 (Wed)                     GRAD – Last day of instruction; last day to arrange for an Incomplete in a course

June 7 (Wed)                     GRAD – Deadline (12 p.m., noon) to submit thesis/dissertation for spring quarter degree conferral

June 8 (Thu)                      GRAD – Day before finals (no classes)

June 9-14 (Fri-Wed)        GRAD – End-Quarter examinations

June 14 (Wed)                 Last day of spring quarter

June 15 (Thu)                    Grades for graduating students due at 12 p.m., noon

June 16 (Fri)                       MD – INDE 297 session for clinical students (Period 12)

June 17 (Sat)                     School of Medicine Commencement (all degree programs)

June 18 (Sun)                    Stanford University Commencement

June 20 (Tue)                    Grades for non-graduating students due at 11:59 p.m.

SPRING QUARTER

(Term 1178)

April 9 (Sun)                        Axess opens for summer quarter course enrollment

June 16 (Fri)                        At status enrollment deadline in order to receive stipend or financial aid refund by first day of  term (5 p.m.)

June 26 (Mon)                  First day of summer quarter; instruction begins for all students

June 26 (Mon)                    Deadline (5 p.m.) to file for leave of absence in summer quarter with full refund

June 26 (Mon)                    Deadline (5 p.m.) to file preliminary study list with sufficient units for student to be “at status”                 

July 3 (Mon)                        MD – First day of clerkships for Period 1

July 4 (Tue)                         Independence Day (holiday; no classes)

July 7 (Mon)                        Deadline (5 p.m.) to file final study list (add/drop, adjust units for variable-unit course)

July 28 (Fri)                         Deadline (5 p.m.) to file for term withdrawal with partial refund

July 31 (Mon)                     MD – First day of clerkships for Period 2

August 4 (Fri)                      Deadline (5 p.m.) to file change to grading basis

August 4 (Fri)                      Deadline (5 p.m.) to file for term withdrawal with partial refund        

August 4 (Fri)                      GRAD – Deadline (5 p.m.) to apply for summer quarter degree conferral

August 12 (Fri)                    MD – INDE 297 session for clinical students (Period 2)

August 12-17 (Sat-Thu)   End-quarter period (“Dead Week”)

August 17 (Thu)                  Last day of instruction; last day to arrange for an Incomplete in a course

August 18-19 (Fri-Sat)      End-quarter examinations

August 19 (Sat)                 Last day of summer quarter

August 22 (Tue)                   Grades due at 11:59 p.m.

August 28 (Mon)                  MD – First day of clerkships for Period 3

September 1 (Fri)                GRAD – Deadline (12 p.m., noon) to submit thesis/dissertation for summer quarter degree conferral

September 28 (Thu)           Conferral of degrees for summer quarter